Sale recap and this weekend’s promo

Phew!

I placed my last pot on the display at 10:03am this past Saturday and signaled to the Universe that I was now ready to receive customers. And folks came.

It was the public face of four months solid effort getting ready and set, gearing up, and launching my little salescraft into orbit. The clouds drew back to light my tiny corner of the universe, the pots, and to welcome the public to my studio. It turned out to be a great weekend. Selling so many pots helped, but seeing old friends, making new ones, and just relaxing with people who care about me and what I do was the best thing I could have asked for after the Herculean labor of putting a show together.

THANK YOU EVERYONE WHO MADE IT ON OUT! πŸ™‚

One of the special treats is that so many of my pots get placed in homes where I know they will be appreciated. One of the special special treats is seeing so many small pots wind up in the small hands of smaller people πŸ™‚ Its amazing what a difference your very own mug can make to a young person!

KcKenna, her piggy bank, and her new mug

KcKenna, her piggy bank, and her new mug

My neighbors Rhea and McKenna had been out the day before, but the brand new mug they had left with didn’t survive an entire day of continuous play 😦 Fortunately the prices being as affordable as they are, McKenna decided that she simply had to replace it and brought her own piggy bank to make the purchase.

Neely rejoices!

Neely rejoices!

Neely rejoices after finding the perfect new mug! Not only are the pots I set out for kids affordably priced but I make them the right size for kids too. I try to respect the smaller versions of a kid’s needs and appetite when I design these pots, and I just hope I have enough variety to give everyone at least a few options to choose from.

chug-a-lug-lug happiness is a cup of water

Luke and Lilly enjoying their new mugs. I think they had said the plan was to drink some milk and some water respectively. The other most popular option kids discussed was hot chocolate πŸ™‚

…………………………………………………..

So last weekend was lots of fun! Lucky for me I get to do it all again this coming weekend. This time I will be joined by the truly fabulous potters Kyle Jones, Jeff Bishoff, and Geoff Pickett. As I said previously, they are “nearly as amazing potters” as me ( πŸ˜‰ )

I hope folks can make it out this weekend. I hope we get the chance to catch up, hang out a bit, and shoot the breeze. If you don’t need any new pots you should still come out and tell us “Hello!” Seeing you all isn’t just the icing on the cake, it is the cake.

Being a potter isn’t a job. Its being the nexus of a very special community that forms to create and sustain beauty in the humble corners of daily life. Every time you add something new and beautiful to your life or share a pottery gift with someone you know the circle has a chance to get that much larger, helping make the world a place where handcrafted beauty is welcomed and local craftsmanship is nurtured.

Thanks for all you do!

Hope to see you this weekend!

 

Carter

 

About Carter Gillies

I am an active potter and sometime pottery instructor who is fascinated by the philosophical side of making pots, teaching these skills, and issues of the artistic life in general. I seem to have a lot to say on this blog, but I don't insist that I'm right. I'm always trying to figure stuff out, and part of that involves admitting that I am almost always wrong in important ways. If you are up for it, please help me out by steering my thoughts in new and interesting directions. I always appreciate the challenge of learning what other people think.
This entry was posted in Art, Ceramics, Creative industry, Imagination, Pottery. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sale recap and this weekend’s promo

  1. Scott Cooper says:

    Great, CG! Love the kid pics with their mugs. Very cool.

  2. Stephen White says:

    hey congratulations on your continued success! You are an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

