And Now For Something Completely Different: Less Theory, More Work

That’s supposed to be a joke folks! (See this post for me being serious about theory and work 🙂 ) If you can’t occasionally laugh at yourself the problem isn’t in your diaphragm….

So, in a 180 degree course reversal its time for me to post some pictures of recent work. If you know me you know how I hate self-promotion, but the summer sales start just next weekend and I might as well show you all what I’ve been up to in the studio for the last several months. Here are some theory neutral mugs, some aesthetically ambivalent bowls, and other assorted nonjudgmental work that doesn’t espouse a point of view, advocate an insight, or otherwise make claims that anyone anywhere should be interested in. This is work that has been done without a hint of thought and which abolishes any meaningful thought in its audience. Cast your eyes on my new Theory-Free Work!

DSCN4782b DSCN4787b DSCN4780b DSCN4771b DSCN4765b DSCN4761b DSCN4752b DSCN4737b DSCN4710b DSCN4695b DSCN4676b DSCN4685b DSCN4688b

Peace all!

Happy potting!

Make beauty real!

Think good thoughts!

.

About Carter Gillies

I am an active potter and sometime pottery instructor who is fascinated by the philosophical side of making pots, teaching these skills, and issues of the artistic life in general. I seem to have a lot to say on this blog, but I don't insist that I'm right. I'm always trying to figure stuff out, and part of that involves admitting that I am almost always wrong in important ways. If you are up for it, please help me out by steering my thoughts in new and interesting directions. I always appreciate the challenge of learning what other people think.
This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Ceramics, Creativity, Imagination, metacognition, Pottery. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And Now For Something Completely Different: Less Theory, More Work

  1. Scott Cooper says:

    Carter Gillies Pottery: Now With Less Ideas! Too bad you already printed your show card! 🙂

    Sweet glazes, sweet forms.

    • Thanks Scott!

      If I don’t lose my mind clearing these last few hurdles to the sale this weekend I might just get the chance to appreciate what I’ve done and where I’m at……

Leave a Reply

