Making a difference……

Thought I’d share this, a sad time for potters…..

Don Reitz passed away the other day. Don was one of those artists who was larger than life, but to meet him in person was to meet a warm and caring human being who gave the appearance of enjoying life more than should have been possible.

I got to attend one of his workshops back in the early mid 90’s and he was kicking up a storm of inspiration. The exhibit of his work that coincided with the workshop was perhaps the single most impressive experience I have had with another person’s art. The workshop itself was mind blowing…….

Years later at an NCECA conference in New Orleans I got to share an elevator with him. He winked at me and smiled. We exchanged pleasantries. I’m sure he had no idea who I was, but I was part of his clan, a fellow enthusiast of clay, and he had time to spare for me. I think it was his nature to be friendly and welcoming. This mattered to him. It seems he wasn’t done teaching me a thing or two….

Don Reitz making

Don Reitz

Rest in peace, Don. Thank you for having been so generous with your fellow travelers. Thank you for having shared so much of yourself with us. Thank you for having lived a life that mattered. I will not soon forget the brief moments our ships passed one another. You helped teach me what it means to make a difference. Its something I try to live up to. In this as in the lives of so many others there are echoes and ripples of your own life that are still spreading out from that center…… You are still making a difference.

.

About Carter Gillies

I am an active potter and sometime pottery instructor who is fascinated by the philosophical side of making pots, teaching these skills, and issues of the artistic life in general. I seem to have a lot to say on this blog, but I don't insist that I'm right. I'm always trying to figure stuff out, and part of that involves admitting that I am almost always wrong in important ways. If you are up for it, please help me out by steering my thoughts in new and interesting directions. I always appreciate the challenge of learning what other people think.
This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Ceramics, Clay, Pottery. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making a difference……

  1. FutureRelicsGallery says:

    He will be missed in so many ways by so many people.

  2. I love what you’ve said above, in a nutshell it is exactly how I feel about pottery and teaching pottery. Concise and inviting, thank you for sharing your thoughts (from my head) LOL

Leave a Reply

