Pottery geeking

Jonathan Carter captures a picture of Tony Clennell, me, Ron Meyers, Kyle Jones, and Steve Driver gawking at fresh pots from Ron's wood kiln.

Jonathan Carter captures a picture of Tony Clennell, me, Ron Meyers, Kyle Jones, and Steve Driver gawking at fresh pots from Ron’s wood kiln.

Its been a wonderful week to be a pottery geek in Athens GA! As I mentioned previously, Tony Clennell, Steve Driver, and Judith Duff were all in town for Ron Meyers’ wood kiln firing. Kyle Jones and I were able to hang out one of the days they were stoking, and returned with Jonathan Carter to see the pots from the kiln. We missed the actual unloading as the Great Storm of Winter 2014 closed all the roads the day before, and the lads bunking at Ron and Hester’s were just itching to get inside that kiln on their own.

Ron had some dusky hued beauties!

Me like!

Me like!

And I was able to score one of Tony’s little bottle vases:

DSCN3866

Sandwiched in between all the wood kiln gawking was a bit of pottery nerdery at the UGA ceramics department. In the spirit of pottery education and multicultural dissemination they invited Master Potter Cehnedien Tony to spend two days workshoping his magic on and off the wheel and screening his mojo in two separate slide lectures. What an incredible time that was!

IMG_1283 IMG_1289 IMG_1293

The slide talk Tony gave on his travels to China was kind of mind blowing. Really all of those two days were fascinating, educational, and hugely entertaining. Tony puts on a great show! If you have the chance to attend one of his workshops I wholeheartedly recommend you make it happen.

I also made out like a bandit in adding some fantastic new pots to my collection! Two of Tony’s mugs, a small cup, and that bottle vase are now all being enjoyed in my home. Joy!

Tony Clennell moves into my kitchen

Tony Clennell moves into my kitchen

And in the spirit of cross border harmony I brought a mug for Tony to take back, as well as one each for Steve and Ron.

If you can't share your pots with fellow potters who can you share them with?

If you can’t share your pots with fellow potters who can you share them with?

I just love being a potter. I truly love pots. All sorts of shapes and sizes. All sorts of uses and destinations. I watch movies and TV shows with one eye on the story and one eye on the set decorations. I get invited into other people’s homes and head straight for the kitchen cabinets…..

I guess that makes me a geek. But I have to believe that I’m in some good company!

Peace all!

Happy potting!

.

About Carter Gillies

I am an active potter and sometime pottery instructor who is fascinated by the philosophical side of making pots, teaching these skills, and issues of the artistic life in general. I seem to have a lot to say on this blog, but I don't insist that I'm right. I'm always trying to figure stuff out, and part of that involves admitting that I am almost always wrong in important ways. If you are up for it, please help me out by steering my thoughts in new and interesting directions. I always appreciate the challenge of learning what other people think.
This entry was posted in Art, Beauty, Ceramics, Clay, Pottery. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pottery geeking

  1. John Bauman says:

    With a gathering of such reserved fellows, whatever did you find to talk about?

  2. ericbotbyl says:

    Well said Carter. Tony’s crazy blog turned me on to your work and writing

  3. I was just reading about this on Tony’s blog. It’s such a pleasure to be a part of this even from a far, I can only imagine how much fun you all had.

  4. Hey Carter: Can’t wait to spend some time with ya next firing- in Jan. You have an amazing generoursity of spirit. So glad to know you. t

Leave a Reply

