Pickett Pottery, Gnecco-ware, and JB Ceramics at Carter Gillies Pottery THIS weekend!

Geoff Pickett of Farmington Pottery, Juana Gnecco of Normaltown Pottery, and Jeff Bishoff of, well… JB is an institution in himself (!)- All these fine potters will be joining me (Carter Gillies) this weekend of June 8th & 9th, to put good pots in people’s hands and to help educate the public about handmade functional beauty in the ceramic crafts. If you are in the Athens Ga area come on out. There were folks from as far away as South Carolina who made it out last weekend, so don’t let a few miles distance make you hesitate to come on out and take a gander. I know folks last week were pleased they made the trip!

Here are some of the types of pots you are liable to see this weekend:

https://i2.wp.com/pickettpottery.com/picture/jar002.jpg

Geoff Pickett jar

https://i2.wp.com/pickettpottery.com/picture/_nef0719.jpg

Geoff Pickett vase

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-VCn5gh07jZQ/UHmLhL_j6_I/AAAAAAAAdV4/XtBRNEW8aIE/w468-h509-no/slide0009_image008.jpg

Juana Gnecco cruet

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-Ju-APhJJ4AM/UHmLhbuGJLI/AAAAAAAAdV8/ukDUi-KCPwU/w598-h470-no/slide0010_image009.jpg

Juana Gnecco bowl

https://i0.wp.com/maconblogs.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/bishoff-bowl-780x520.jpg

Jeff Bishoff cut bowl

jb

Jeff Bishoff vase

I will spare you the details of my own pots. If you are not familiar with what I do, please check out the gallery page (a bit out of date, unfortunately) or browse some of the recent blog posts.

Thanks for the support! Hope folks can make it out!

Peace all!

Make beauty real!

.

About Carter Gillies

I am an active potter and sometime pottery instructor who is fascinated by the philosophical side of making pots, teaching these skills, and issues of the artistic life in general. I seem to have a lot to say on this blog, but I don't insist that I'm right. I'm always trying to figure stuff out, and part of that involves admitting that I am almost always wrong in important ways. If you are up for it, please help me out by steering my thoughts in new and interesting directions. I always appreciate the challenge of learning what other people think.
This entry was posted in Art, Ceramics, Creative industry, Pottery. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pickett Pottery, Gnecco-ware, and JB Ceramics at Carter Gillies Pottery THIS weekend!

  1. Good luck. Philbeck, carpenter and myself are planning to visit soon, unfortunately not this weekend. Love the JB pottery!

  2. Lori Buff says:

    I am sorry I couldn’t make it out there last weekend, we’ll try for this one.

Leave a Reply

