Ron Philbeck: In The House!

Me and Ron P. That's me on the left, the one with the beard that looks like its about to devour his face. Gotta take it down a notch or two before it gets dangerous....

Me and Ron P. That’s me on the left, the one with the beard that looks like its about to devour his face. Gotta take it down a notch or two before it gets dangerous….

So there’s a squinty eyed me and my friend, pottery blog hero, and fellow potter Ron Philbeck on our way to a fine vegetarian breakfast at Athens’ own The Grit restaurant. Ron was in town visiting his expanding group of friends in the Athens area, making stops at Ron and Hester Meyers’ to also visit with visiting former Athenian George McCauley who is making a film about Ron Meyers, and also staying at the home of fellow friend Andrew Lentini who was a potter in another not so distant life. I’m glad Shelby NC is not so far away that he can’t make these visits every once in a while!

Breakfast was a scrumptious tofu and veggies with sides of potatoes, biscuits and vegetarian soysage gravy. We stayed a while and talked pottery, life, plans for the future, and history. Its always a treat to pick Ron’s brain and an inspiration to hear what he’s up to and what he’s thinking about. Its great to have friends like Ron! I wish more of them lived closer….

Peace all!

Make beauty real!

.

About Carter Gillies

I am an active potter and sometime pottery instructor who is fascinated by the philosophical side of making pots, teaching these skills, and issues of the artistic life in general. I seem to have a lot to say on this blog, but I don't insist that I'm right. I'm always trying to figure stuff out, and part of that involves admitting that I am almost always wrong in important ways. If you are up for it, please help me out by steering my thoughts in new and interesting directions. I always appreciate the challenge of learning what other people think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ron Philbeck: In The House!

  1. ronpots2 says:

    So glad we got to hang out this morning Carter. It was wonderful! Looking forward to the next time. Just home now taking a bit of a rest. Cheers, Ron

  2. It was great having Ron over! Carter, we need to get together soon too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

