Holiday pottery sale, for all the local Athens peeps

Ahoy Athenians, pottery lovers, and stray internet cruisers!

This here to let you all know that this weekend and the following (Dec 3,4,10 &11) I will be hosting my annual pottery sales event. The times are from 10am to 4pm both Saturdays and Sundays, and will be held at my studio behind the house at 572 Nantahala Ave right here in Athens Jawjah (That’s Georgia to all you foreigners).

There will be plenty of fine pots by me the first weekend, and then me joined by stalwart local potters Geoff Pickett, Jeff Bishoff and Juana Gnecco the second. Among the pots will be several cups and mugs with this fabulous glaze slip combination I have been experimenting with. I think this will be a serious direction for me to pursue in the coming months.

Check out those crystals!!! And the ‘shadow’ of the drip marks from when the slip was applied! Kind of makes me feel better about not having a woodkiln to fire in these days.

So if you are in town either of those weekends please come on out. I have something like a buzzilion pots that need good homes with sensitive and caring art lovers. So if you think you might be such a person, I’d love to make your acquaintance. Most pots are priced under $20 (mugs typically $16-20, small bowls $12-20, etc.), and there is a clearance section of otherwise fine pots that have just lingered in my presence for too long. Those pots are priced around half off, if you can believe it. That sounds pretty darn inexpensive for the quality being served up (in my book at least….).

So come on out if you can, and support your local potter (apologies to BP), support the Arts in Athens, support handmade, and support locally crafted excellence.

Hope to see you there!

Carter

About Carter Gillies

I am an active potter and sometime pottery instructor who is fascinated by the philosophical side of making pots, teaching these skills, and issues of the artistic life in general. I seem to have a lot to say on this blog, but I don't insist that I'm right. I'm always trying to figure stuff out, and part of that involves admitting that I am almost always wrong in important ways. If you are up for it, please help me out by steering my thoughts in new and interesting directions. I always appreciate the challenge of learning what other people think.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Holiday pottery sale, for all the local Athens peeps

  1. Rebecca Brandow says:

    Hey Carter! I hope you have a great sale! I wish I could be there but it is exactly 1000 miles from my front door to your front door. Just pretend I’m there ooing and ahhing over all the pottery. 🙂

  2. Cara says:

    Love the slip/glaze combo! definitely worth pursuing, it’s an awesome finish to an awesome mug!

  3. Tom Johnson says:

    Howz your turquoise coming???

    • Nada, I’m afraid…. You should have spoken up sooner. You know how easy it is to get distracted in the studio. Especially with the pressure of whipping out one kiln after another. Seems I lost track of the need for turquoise. Drat!

      Next time for sure!

  4. Kevin Carter says:

    Very nice glaze, Carter G! Them crystal is “cherce.” ( You remember “Woman of the Year?”)
    Good luck with your sale(s), but I am too distant to attend, even though I would come just to meet someone named Juana Gnecco. Gotta be cool.

    • Thanks Kevin! “cherce” indeed.

      And you are right about Juana. As Zaphod Beeblebrox would say, “she’s so hip she has trouble seeing over her pelvis. She’s so cool you can keep a side of meat in her for months”.

      Thanks for the good luck wishes!

  5. kyle says:

    hi carter…hope your studio sales go well! wish you were a little closer(like about 15 hours closer by car)…then you would see my smiling face and I would be walking away with a couple of those beautiful amber glazed mugs…like honey!
    Thanks for chiming in on my own blog…Im milkin’ what I can, from who I can with the Lowdown show until it closes…its great work…and will indeed get way more exposure at Red Lodge…

    happy pot sellin’ holidays…thats pottery folks….pottery!

    • Ahoy Kyle!

      The sale went well indeed. Not great, but far better than the disaster of the Summer. So I’m pleased and hopeful for the next three rounds. Wish you were closer too. I have secret dreams of moving back to Philly (I grew up there), but these days I can’t imagine how I’d afford it on the measly income I can scrounge up in small town Athens. Maybe someday….

      Yeah, I really love your show. Are you gonna head up to Red Lodge for their opening? It would be interesting to compare the reception across states and also from an academic environment to a community arts setting.

      Happy pot sellin’ to you too (and everyone of us out there)!

  6. Lori Buff says:

    I’m going to try to make it out there on Sunday, I hope you have a great sale but have a few pieces left for me.

    • Hey Lori! That would be great! Somehow I forgot that you were in Atlanta practically right next door. It will be nice to meet you in person!

      The sale did go well, fortunately. But not to worry, I started out with around 650 pots, so there are still plenty left.

Leave a Reply

